Citrus Mango Salmon

citrus mango salmon 1

Good evening my fellow beauties! The week is coming to a close and that means I need to start packing for my trip to Miami. Although my mom doesn’t believe I would ever get up and go visit her just for her that is exactly what I am doing. I have been procrastinating on the gift wrapping and clothes packing, but; the time has come to procrastinate no more. Speaking of procrastinating, I waited a really long time to get involved in the cruise interpreting industry out of pure fear. I was scared of the next level of interpreting. I was comfortable going out to do all kind of assignments anywhere in the world as well as running my interpreting agency full time; nonetheless, I was not ready to go on a cruise. First and foremost, the sea and boats freak me out. The whole ‘being out in the middle of the ocean in the hands of some captain I have never met’ thing is a total turn off for me. Second, when we went on our cruise to the Bahamas, I got extremely sick and was so nauseated at every moment that I was not sure I could handle working a cruise.

To put the whole fear and nausea deal behind me, I did my research. I had initially gone on a cruise of less than 1,000 passengers; according to my research, the larger the ship, the less of a chance you will get sick. I thought it was the other way around. I should have just Googled it. Either way, I am getting off track.

Just last week, I drove up to Daytona Beach for a “Cruise Interpreting Fundamentals” workshop by the cruise interpreting queen, Jennifer Alvarez. She isn’t an interpreter and doesn’t even sign but she has paved the way for this industry. She basically has created the field. I wanted to join the pioneers of the industry and become a cruise interpreter. Be that as it may, I have joined the field; on the contrary, I am unable to put in as much work as I would like to throughout the year because my job as the Executive Director of Sunrise Interpreting is quite demanding. Not answering the phone for days at a time is kind of not an option for me. Marylex is working on putting more time in with Sunrise but we can only do as much as we can to make it all run smoothly. Blood, sweat and tears doesn’t do justice to the work we do behind the scenes.

Anyhow, I am taking my first cruise at the end of the month and my second in the beginning of July. As nervous as I am, the excitement is building from within the pit of my stomach. I will be teaming the first one with a CDI (Certified Deaf Interpreter) that I have never met; this makes me cringe. Regardless, this is a step I have to take and I know I will be fine. The second one will be with my good friend and mentor, Carol; this makes me feel so relieved.

Now that I have given my nightly spiel, I am ready to share one of my most recent and most amazing simple dishes. xoxo

Ingredients:

2 salmon filets

1 tsp ground coriander

2 tbsp raw agave nectar

Handful chives, chopped

½ cup orange mango juice

(I use the brand Simply Orange because it has no sugar or added nonsense.)

1 tbsp peanut oil

Sea salt, to taste

 

Instructions:

  1. In a Tupperware, place filets of salmon
  2. Sprinkle a bit of coriander on each side of the filets
  3. Drizzle agave over the filets
  4. Roughly chop chives + toss into the Tupperware
  5. Cover the filets with juice
  6. Top + refrigerate for 15-20 minutes
  7. In a pan drizzled with peanut oil, add the filets + sauce
  8. Cook until sauce has reduced
  9. Sprinkle with salt to taste
  10. Serve over a bed of quinoa or beside some yummy veggies

 

Serves:

2

Leave a Reply

