Mexican Salmon + Veggies

mexican salmon

Happy Cinco de Mayo! I might not have eaten any Mexican food today but I do have a delicious meal for you all to try. Today is a day to kick back and watch Miami Heat with a margarita in hand so I will do just that. Today is also my brother in law’s birthday so happy birthday Kalex! I know the Heat will win in the name of Mexico. Arriiiiiiba!

I love, love, love Mexican food. It has always been my mom’s favorite so I grew up trying all types of Mexican dishes in any and every Mexican restaurant that has ever existed. She also made many Mexican inspired dishes in the kitchen while growing up. She always made it fun to cook meals together. If it wasn’t a make your own quesadilla or fajita night at the kitchen bar, it was a make your own pita pizza or some other cool idea. My friends and I loved her creativity because it made it fun to eat foods that other kids usually hated like veggies. Vegetables weren’t scary, they were fun.

My favorite Mexican dish is always some sort of nacho concoction. Nachos are my favorite. I have a recipe for healthy vegan nachos but it is such a mission that I have never posted it up. Maybe the next time I make it I will get inspired to share it with you all. I also have made some yummy enchiladas but my friend Anna’s are even better. I shared her recipe on the blog like in January if not February. So yummy!

Onto the delicious recipe cause I cannot wait…

 

Ingredients:

2 salmon filets

1 tbsp fajita seasoning

1 tsp garlic powder

Olive oil

1 can black beans, drained

1 can corn, drained

1 red pepper, sliced

1 red potato, chopped

¼ onion, spiralized

½ lemon, squeezed

Sea salt, to taste

 

Optional:

dried chives

 

Instructions:

  1. Season salmon with the ½ of the fajita seasoning
  2. Drizzle olive oil on a pan
  3. Cook salmon on medium heat
  4. Drain black beans + corn
  5. Slice red pepper
  6. Chop potato
  7. Place potato in a small bowl + heat up for 4 minutes in microwave
  8. Spiralize onion
  9. Toss all veggies, including potato, in a bowl with the rest of the fajita seasoning + garlic powder
  10. Remove salmon from heat + serve
  11. In the same pan, add a bit more olive oil + throw in all the veggies
  12. Sauté for a few minutes
  13. Serve a bit of your Mexican veggies with each dish (you may have leftovers of your side)
  14. Garnish with chives, if desired

Serves:

2

One thought on “Mexican Salmon + Veggies

Leave a Reply

