Feature Friday: Oreo Cookies

20140208-020949.jpg

This week I had the pleasure of having Heather Adamson from @bigcitydreamerblog on Instagram. Her page has inspired me for a longtime and it was so nice to connect with her, to know her story. Take the time to read below all about her health and fitness journey. There is also a delicious and mouth-watering recipe on her raw/vegan “Oreo Cookies”. Mmmm. Read on people!

Growing up in Cyprus, I have always loved fruit and vegetables but have been eating fully clean and making healthy recipes for the last 5 years or so. I just love healthy eating and fitness as I don’t only look better but feel so much better; it really is the best lifestyle there is.
This year, I want to start going to the gym more! I do yoga and pilates at home but now I have moved into a flat above a gym, I think it’s time to join up! Last year, in September, I tried out being vegan for a month and have carried it on from there so one month this year I want to experience eating fully raw. I want to challenge myself and see what recipes I can come up with within these limitations.
The way I feel when I eat healthy and keep fit is what keeps me motivated! There is no better feeling in the world than being healthy! Of course, another factor is instagram; I love to inspire others with my recipes.
First, it is okay to have ‘off-days’; don’t get disheartened! Just keep an end goal in mind but don’t push yourself too far past your limitations…enjoy the journey! I also love this quote by Nelson Mandela, that “everything seems impossible until it’s done”.
My favourite workout is definitely 30 minutes of pilates followed by 15 minutes of yoga! I also do a really quick ‘circuit’ before bed with 30 squats, 30 crunches and a 60 second plank.

Ingredients:

For the cookies:
1/2 cup blanched almonds
2 tbsp old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup soaked pitted dates
1 small handful soaked prunes/raisins
2 tbsp cacao/carob powder
2 tbsp water

For the filling:
1/2 cup raw cashews
2 1/2 tbsp water
1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions:
1. place cookie ingredients in food processor
2. blitz until combined

*PLEASE NOTE: I prefer the chunkier texture but if you want a smoother texture, process the dry ingredients first before adding the water, dates and prunes

3. press into a lined baking tray and freeze for at least one hour (can be left overnight)
4. after removing from the freezer, cut out small circles using a cookie cutter
5. (adapted from chocolatecoveredkatie) in a bowl, cover cashews with water and leave them to soak for 3-8 hours
6. drain the cashews
7. place cashews, water (I used leftover date-soaked water for added sweetness) and vanilla extract in a food processor blender and blend until smooth and creamy
8. if you have used a food processor, you may need to put through a fine-mesh sieve (makes 1/2 – 3/4 cups which can be stored for 3-4 days)
9. sandwich the cookies together with cashew cream in between
10. serve

Serves:
many

Leave a Reply

