Feature Friday: Piña Colada Protein Pancakes

20140202-155040.jpg

This final week of January, I have the youngest health nut I know on IG, Spencer Miller from @macro_chef. He shares his story with us + it’s truly enlightening. It takes a lot of us a long time to get healthy + I admire seeing Spencer do so at such a young age. Read on to know more about him + see the delicious recipe for “Piña Colada Protein Pancakes”.

I started my health/fitness journey about 2 years ago when I was in 7th grade.
This year my goal is to run my first full marathon!
My motivation to stay fit and healthy is the fact that it makes me feel extremely good about myself because I am taking the best possible care of my body that I can.
I would advise people to think about how good they will feel when they exercise or eat right, but also not to freak out if they have one little slip up. One bad day if eating won’t make you fat just like one good day of eating won’t make you healthy.
My favorite cardio workout are cycling or running and my favorite body part to lift for is my back!

Ingredients:

For the pancakes:
3/4 cup oat flour
1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
1/2 cup canned pumpkin
1 egg
1/4 cup water or milk
1/8 tsp rum extract
1/4 tsp coconut extract
1 tbsp stevia
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp apple cider vinegar
spray coconut oil

For the frosting:
1/4 cup Greek yogurt
1 tbsp stevia
1/8 tsp coconut extract

For the topping:
fresh pineapple, diced
unsweetened shredded coconut

Instructions:
1. dice pineapple
2. mix all dry ingredients together in a bowl
3. blend wet ingredients in a blender
4. add the wet to dry, mix well
5. add more water, if necessary to avoid clumping but make sure it’s thick
6. mix ingredients for the frosting, set aside
7. in a pan sprayed with coconut oil, cook your pancakes on medium-high heat for about 4 minutes each (on both sides)
8. layer the pancakes with frosting and toppings
9. serve

Serves:
2

Leave a Reply

