Chicken Quickie

20140116-224840.jpg

You know, people give SO many excuses to not eat healthy, workout out + lose weight. I don’t have time. Gyms cost so much money! I’m not creative in the kitchen. If only you could cook for me, I’d do it. <— that's my favorite. Healthy food is SO expensive. <— I lied earlier, this is my favorite. It’s not freaking true. Any of those things. Gym memberships are not expensive they just have a contract cause they know people like the ones that say the stuff from above will not commit to anything until life smacks them in the face. Yes, I’m all for helping people but I don’t understand why lie + make excuses when eating healthy can be inexpensive if you’re not shopping gourmet. Even if I cook for you, you’re not going to do anything because you won’t do it for you. That’s why I write this blog! Oh, and the cookbook of course. I want to make it easy. I do all the work figuring out the recipes till they’re perfect + teach you how to do it at home. I bring my kitchen to your table. Now, why am I ranting you ask? Because I’m traveling in ATL with Marylex for 8 days to enjoy the city but most of all for Passion Conference. To save money + make sure we stay in point with healthy eating, we went to the local Kroger grocery store to get groceries for all meals for this week (snacks we brought from home). Do you know how much we spent for the healthiest stuff for over 30 meals (multiply this by two)? $67 whopping dollars!!! And, that grand total included toothpaste I bought on super sale to take home. So now, what’s your excuse???? Love you guys just had to rant, xo.

Ingredients:
6 chicken thighs (boneless/skinless)
1 tbsp parsley flakes
1 tbsp garlic powder
1 tbsp Cajun seasoning
1 red onion, sliced
1 tbsp Bill Bragg’s amino acids
1 tbsp coconut oil

Instructions:
1. in a large bowl, mix seasoning + chicken thighs well, set aside
2. slice your onion
3. scoop coconut oil onto large pan at medium heat
4. once oil is melted, add onions cooking until caramelized
5. lower heat to medium-low + add chicken thighs
6. when chicken begins browning, add aminos
7. cook on both sides for another 10-12 minutes
8. serve with a side of fluffy quinoa + broccoli

Serves:
6

My groceries for 8 days for Marylex and I while traveling.

20140116-225019.jpg

Now, onto my food styling photography. Don’t mind the crappiness I’m in a hotel!

20140116-225258.jpg

20140116-225403.jpg

20140116-225306.jpg

Made this a second time + instead of with red onion I used bell pepper (paired with a side of quinoa + white corn)

20140121-113603.jpg

20140121-113637.jpg

20140121-113646.jpg

20140121-113655.jpg

Leave a Reply

