Spicy Honey + Garlic Chick Peas

20140109-121340.jpg

I spent so many years of my life chasing flavors of things that were made with disgusting processed foods. It was a mind maze because I was stuck in a place that I felt nobody could save me from. This place was within my mind and I couldn’t even find myself in there being that I was the culprit of it all. I created the maze and fabricated the lies I told myself–it was me who believed them. I overate incessantly and couldn’t get enough of the foods that were killing me.

In the first year of recovery for my eating disorders, I ate pretty basic. I ate mostly primal because I knew my body had to go back to an original state of being and that was what God called me to do. I have abstained from sugar and flour for some time now but over the last year I began incorporating flavors that were once targeted to achieve the debacle of my deteriorating body but I did it wisely. I used wholesome, natural, nutritious, healthy, primarily vegan/vegetarian foods that were free of refined sugar/flour as well as salt in order to reclaim my freedom from food. I have thought out of the box to regain the mental space and clarity God tells me I deserve.

Today, I came up with this meal in lieu of once living a lie and telling myself there was no way out of my huge, obese almost 300 lb body. Eating foods that nearly killed me and never letting it go until God showed me this whole time His hand was extended there relentlessly waiting for me to grab hold of His promise for freedom. I would have long ago not cared about the properties of goodness that whole foods can bring to your body and would have resorted to eating sickening foods such as honey garlic fried chicken from a local Chinese/Oriental type restaurant. Today, I chose His freedom how I have been doing for the last few years. I enjoyed a delicious meal that had all sorts of benefits to my body parts and internal organs that had the true spicy honey garlic flavors that I once thought I was having. I could be guilt-free eating and partaking of the foods God has given to me to have. Thank You, Jesus for dying for this freedom.

xo,

chefNia *

Ingredients:
1 (15.5 oz) can chick peas
1 tbsp raw honey
1 tbsp roasted red pepper flakes
1 garlic clove, minced
2 tbsp raw agave nectar
1 tsp Bill Bragg’s amino acids
spray coconut oil

Instructions:
1. rinse + drain chick peas
2. toss peas with the remaining ingredients in a bowl, except oil
3. coat the peas evenly with the sauce
4. cover + refrigerate for 15-20 minutes
5. in a large pan sprayed with coconut oil, begin to sautée your chick peas on medium-low heat
6. cook until sauce thickens
7. serve over a bowl of “The Perfect Brown Rice”

Serves:
2

And, because I’m a sucker for good food pictures…

20140109-121453.jpg

20140109-121503.jpg

20140109-121512.jpg

20140109-121521.jpg

20140109-121531.jpg

20140202-232434.jpg

20140202-232443.jpg

20140202-232452.jpg

Leave a Reply

