Corn Casserole

20131205-021936.jpg

This is a recipe that has become a staple for our family Thanksgiving spread. For years, I have been in charge of the “Corn Casserole”, but; every year that I gained more and more weight, I realized something in the foods I was eating was not right. This was one of those dishes.

Last year, when I became my 360 degree lifestyle change, Thanksgiving changed, too. Most of the family was willing to compromise with me and not bring the usual loaf of bread or even add unnecessary marshmallows to the infamous “Sweet Potato Casserole” that has been served every year since I can remember, thanks Mom.

I did not have a blog last year around the holidays or at least I didn’t keep up with it so I thought I would share such a warm delicious dish that can, honestly, be served at anytime year round. Of course, this also comes without the guilt. Every holiday that went by, I seemed to add more and more sour cream and cheese, as if I needed it. This got to the point where my casserole did not bake thoroughly in the year 2010. I remember clearly how it had to stay in the oven tons of extra time  and I did not want to admit that I kept adding junk because I never thought it was enough.

This year, just like last, I served myself a decent plate of my favorites (as long as they were made without sugar and flour) and had no guilt or shame for doing so. I hope you enjoy this dish just as much as we do and, now, you don’t have to feel guilty either.

Ingredients:

1 box of gluten free cornbread mix
1 egg
3 tbsp sour cream
1 cup kernel corn, thawed
1 can cream corn
1 tbsp cream cheese
1/4 cup shredded four cheese

Optional:

4 slices of American cheese

Instructions:

1. preheat your oven to 350 degrees F
2. in a large mixing bowl, whisk together your GF corn mix, egg, and sour cream (you can double this recipe if you want to give away a casserole to family as I do annually)
3. add your corn to your casserole along with cream cheese, whisk this well
4. toss in your shredded cheese
5. mix thoroughly one last time
6. spray a small casserole dish with coconut oil
7. pour in the mixture
8. place in the oven for 30-45 minutes
9. do the toothpick check to make sure it is cooked thoroughly

If you do not desire a cheese topping, just disregard the following steps and just serve as is.

10. add your slices of American cheese to the top of your casserole
11. put back in the oven for 5-10 minutes
12. serve and enjoy!

Serves:
10-12

Leave a Reply

